VUMC Islet Procurement & Analysis Core

Overview of Services

The Islet Procurement and Analysis Core (IPA Core) is a core of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center (DRTC). Pancreatic islet biology, development, and function are major DRTC research areas with investigators studying a variety of islet-related processes ranging from intracellular signaling, immunology of type 1 diabetes, islet-enriched transcription factors, to islet transplantation. The objective of the core is to facilitate research of DRTC-affiliated investigators by providing high quality, well-characterized mouse pancreatic islets.

Services:

Mouse Islet Isolation
Islet Perifusion
Static Islet Incubation
Islet Culture
Islet RNA Isolation
Whole Slide Scanning & Image Analysis
Assistance with Human Islets
Assistance with experimental design

 

 

*Acknowledgements for Islet Procurement & Analysis Core*
Please remember to acknowledge the Islet Procurement & Analysis Core when submitting publications. The Islet Procurement & Analysis Core is supported by the Vanderbilt Diabetes Research and Training Center (P60 DK020593).

Personnel

Marcela Brissova (Tel. 615-936-1729), PhD, Core Director

Anastasia Coldren (Tel. 615-936-2858), BS, Research Assistant

Heather Durai (Tel. 615-875-8486), BS, Research Assistant

Shaojun Mei, (Tel. 615-875-8661), MD, Research Assistant

Victoria DiBacco, (Tel. 615-936-2902), BS, Research Assistant

Conrad Reihsmann, (Tel. 615-936-9118), Research Assistant

Alisa Escue (Tel. 615-322-2397), Core Administrator

Location and hours of operation

Hours Location

Islet Procedures: M - F 8 am - 4:30 pm  

Slide Scanning: 24/7

8445C MRB IV

8434 MRB IV

Links and Resources

  1. http://diabetescenters.org/core/drtc-vanderbilt-islet-procurement-analysis
  2. https://labnodes.vanderbilt.edu/resource/view/id/1629/community_id/58

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Marcela Brissova
Core Director
 
615-936-1729
 
Marcela.Brissova@Vanderbilt.Edu
 
8435G MRB4
 
Anastasia Coldren
Research Assistant
 
615-936-2858
 
Anastasia.Coldren@Vanderbilt.Edu
 
7475 MRB4
 
Alisa Escue
Core Administrator
 
615-322-2397
 
Alisa.Escue@vanderbilt.edu
 
807E Light Hall
 
Heather Durai
Research Assistant
 
615-875-8483
 
Heather.Durai@vanderbilt.edu
 
8445 MRB4
 
Shaojun Mei
Research Assistant
 
615-875-8661
 
Shaojun.Mei@Vanderbilt.Edu
 
7475 MRB4
 
VIctoria DiBacco
Research Assistant
 
615-936-2902
 
Victoria.A.Dibacco@vanderbilt.edu
 
7475 MRB4
 
Conrad Reihsmann
Research Assistant
 
615-936-9118
 
Conrad.V.Reihsmann@vanderbilt.edu
 
7475 MRB4
 

Available Equipment and Resources

Name Price
Scan Scope CS View calendar
Scan Scope FL View calendar
Indica Labs Image Analysis Workstation View calendar